Comparison

ChatGPT's Pro Tiers Compared: $100 vs. $200 vs. $500 (2026)

OpenAI added a $500 Pro 500 tier and cut the $200 tier's usage allowance on Sept 29, 2026. Here's what each tier includes, per OpenAI's own pages.

·6 min read·AI-written from public sources, not hands-on tested
Homepages of Perplexity
Quick verdict

Pro 100 and Pro 200 are unchanged in price; Pro 200 just got less usage for the same $200 unless you were already subscribed before Sept 29, 2026. Pro 500 is a new $500/month tier that mainly buys a faster response speed, not a smarter model.

Why now

At its Sept 29, 2026 DevDay, OpenAI added a third Pro-branded plan, Pro 500, and at the same time reduced the usage allowance included in the existing $200 Pro plan for anyone starting or renewing a subscription after that date. ChatGPT's $20/month Plus plan was not changed and still serves as OpenAI's own reference point: every Pro tier's usage allowance is described as a multiple of what Plus includes. This is exactly the kind of change ToolPulse tracks — a price-ladder restructuring on a tool many readers already pay for, not a new product launch.

Pricing at a glance

As of Oct 12, 2026, per OpenAI's official help-center article "About ChatGPT Pro tiers" and its DevDay 2026 recap. Automated retrieval of openai.com and help.openai.com was blocked with an HTTP error on this and every previous ToolPulse attempt; the figures below come from OpenAI's own pages as surfaced and quoted through search, cross-checked against several independent outlets (Engadget, Digital Trends, Winbuzzer, TechCrunch) that all report the same numbers with no contradiction.

PlanPriceUsage allowance vs. PlusTop-model weekly messages (new subscriptions)Exclusive feature
Plus $20/month Baseline (1x) Not Pro-tier limited —
Pro 100 $100/month 5x Plus (per secondary trackers; not stated as a multiplier on OpenAI's own page) 50, shared with the top reasoning model Entry point to Pro-only model access
Pro 200 $200/month 10x Plus (was 20x before Sept 29, 2026) 100 (was 200 before Sept 29, 2026) Grandfathered subscribers keep the old allowance through Oct 29, 2026
Pro 500 $500/month, billed monthly only 25x Plus Highest of the three Pro tiers; exact figure not confirmed on OpenAI's own page Only tier with "Ultrafast" response speed

Sources: OpenAI Help Center, "About ChatGPT Pro tiers" (help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128), and OpenAI's DevDay 2026 Recap (openai.com/index/devday-2026-recap/), both retrieved via search on Oct 12, 2026 after direct automated access was blocked. The Pro 100 usage multiplier is explicitly marked above as a secondary-source figure because OpenAI's own page, as surfaced through search, did not state it as a number.

ChatGPT Plus

ChatGPT Plus remains $20/month and is unaffected by this round of changes. It's the baseline every Pro tier's "allowance" is measured against, and it's the plan to start from if you're not sure you need Pro-level usage at all — none of the three Pro tiers below change what Plus itself includes.

Pro 100

Pro 100 costs $100/month and was not part of the Sept 29, 2026 changes — it already existed as OpenAI's lower-cost Pro entry point. It includes a shared weekly allowance of 50 messages for the top-tier reasoning model, on top of standard Plus-level usage for everything else. Of the three Pro plans, it's the one with the least usage headroom, and it does not include Ultrafast response speed.

Pro 200

Pro 200 is OpenAI's original Pro plan and still costs $200/month, but what that $200 buys changed on Sept 29, 2026 for anyone subscribing or renewing after that date: the overall usage allowance dropped from 20x Plus to 10x Plus, and the top-model weekly message cap in chat dropped from 200 to 100. If you had an active Pro 200 subscription at any point between Sept 22 and 10 a.m. Pacific on Sept 29, 2026, OpenAI's own terms grandfather you into the old, higher allowance through Oct 29, 2026, after which your subscription moves to the new lower allowance at the same $200/month price. Grandfathered subscribers also received a one-time grant of 62,500 credits (OpenAI states a value of roughly $2,500) that expires Dec 31, 2026.

Pro 500

Pro 500 is the new plan, priced at $500/month and billed monthly only — OpenAI's page does not list an annual option for it. It carries the highest usage allowance of the three Pro tiers (25x Plus) and is the only plan with access to "Ultrafast," a faster response-speed tier in ChatGPT Work and Codex. Based on how OpenAI describes it, Ultrafast is about generation speed, not a different or more capable underlying model than what Pro 200 already accesses — the main thing the extra $300/month buys over Pro 200 is more usage headroom plus that speed tier, not a qualitatively smarter assistant.

What differs for someone deciding today

For anyone who hits Pro 200's message caps regularly, the Sept 29, 2026 change is the real story: the same $200/month now buys half the weekly top-model messages it did before, unless you qualify for the Oct 29, 2026 grandfathering window — which has effectively already closed for new subscribers, since it required an active subscription before that date. For anyone who doesn't come close to the old 200-message weekly cap, the allowance cut may not be noticeable in practice. Pro 500's value case is narrower: it's aimed at people whose bottleneck is response latency during heavy Codex or ChatGPT Work sessions, not people who simply want more messages — Pro 500 does include more usage than Pro 200, but Ultrafast access, not raw allowance, is the one feature unique to it.

Who should pick what

  • Occasional or light users: Plus at $20/month remains the starting point; nothing here changes that calculation.
  • Regular heavy user who rarely maxes out messages: Pro 100 at $100/month is the cheapest way into Pro-tier model access and wasn't touched by this change.
  • Already on Pro 200 before Sept 29, 2026: no action needed before Oct 29, 2026; after that date, your allowance drops even though the price doesn't — worth reassessing then whether Pro 100 or Pro 500 fits better.
  • New Pro 200 subscriber today: you get the lower, post-Sept 29 allowance from day one — compare your expected usage against Pro 100's 50 weekly messages before assuming Pro 200 is automatically worth the extra $100.
  • Latency-sensitive, heavy Codex or ChatGPT Work usage: Pro 500 is the only tier with Ultrafast; everyone else is paying $300/month more mainly for speed and extra headroom, not a different model.

What this comparison doesn't cover

This piece does not compare ChatGPT's Pro tiers against Perplexity or any other assistant. ToolPulse's earlier coverage of this topic planned that comparison, but Perplexity's official pricing page has returned an HTTP error on every automated retrieval attempt so far, including this one, so no Perplexity pricing figures appear here. It also doesn't cover ChatGPT's Business or Enterprise plans, which are priced and licensed separately from the personal Plus/Pro tiers above, and it doesn't evaluate output quality or model behavior — none of that can be read from a pricing or help-center page, and ToolPulse has not used any of these plans hands-on.

Sources & methodology

This comparison is based on OpenAI's public information as of Oct 12, 2026, not on hands-on testing.

  • OpenAI Help Center — "About ChatGPT Pro tiers" (help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-about-chatgpt-pro-tiers); direct retrieval blocked with an HTTP error, content confirmed via search, which quoted the page directly
  • OpenAI — "DevDay 2026 Recap" (openai.com/index/devday-2026-recap/); same retrieval limitation and confirmation method as above
  • OpenAI — "Introducing ChatGPT Plus" (openai.com/index/chatgpt-plus/), for the unchanged $20/month Plus baseline; same retrieval limitation
  • Cross-checked against independent reporting with consistent figures: Engadget ("OpenAI adds $500 Pro subscription, nerfs its existing $200 tier"), Digital Trends ("OpenAI wants $500 a month for ChatGPT now, and the $200 plan is paying for it"), Winbuzzer, and TechCrunch's coverage of the original $100 Pro plan launch

Tools in this post

AI chat assistants

ChatGPT Plus

ChatGPT is OpenAI's conversational AI assistant; the paid Plus tier adds higher usage limits, broader model and reasoning opt…

  • Prices not verified
AI chat assistants

Perplexity

Perplexity is an AI answer engine that combines web search with cited, sourced responses; the paid Pro tier adds more citatio…

  • Prices not verified

Get ToolPulse Weekly

What changed in the prices, plans and features of the AI tools you use, once a week, with source and date.